It was in June 1989 when Parañaque Municipal High School La Huerta Annex opened its gate and began serving the public. Its abrupt birth in this barangay was a bit surprising yet gratifying.

            The building had been an elementary school and was renovated for the convenience of the graders. However, due to congestion of high schoolers at Parañaque Municipal High School in Sucat (then was the only public secondary school in the municipality), former Mayor Walfrido Ferrer permitted the use of the building for high school students.

            The school started to have 30 sections of purely first year students. Populations totaled then to 1,518. Mr. Urbano E. Agustin, the assistant principal of the mother school headed the administration and 45 faculty members. In school year 1991-1992, the second-year level came off creating 14 sections per year level. In the same school year, Miss Narcisa F. Catindig assumed office as the Officer in Charge. Not until June 1993 that the school began operating the complete 4 year-levels with 7 sections each.

            Since then, several Officers in Charge were assigned to lead the school namely Miss Carmelita C. Sabino (1999-2000) and Mrs. Elizabeth C. Cabales (2000-2002). But before Mrs. Cabales served as OIC, Dr. Rosendo C. Abulog was appointed Teacher in Charge. Dr. Gregorio T. Capiral (2002-2005) and Mr. Rafael F. Centina (2005-2008) also served as OICs. It was during Mr. Centina’s second year that PNHS-Tambo Extension was opened. Mrs. Lita C. Mata (2008-2009) and Miss Ma. Estrellita C. Arceo (2009-2010) followed. In July 2010, PNHS La Huerta Annex welcomed the Assistant Schools Division Superintendent, Mrs. Rita E. Riddle as OIC-Principal (2010-2013). School Year 2012-2013 marked the implementation of the Alternative Delivery Mode (ADM) schedule, the brainchild of Mrs. Riddle. On September 16, 2013, the new OIC- Principal, Mrs. Lilibeth D. Santamaria assumed office and has headed the school up to the present.

            For more than three decades, our school has surpassed years of hard work, perseverance, sincerity, and faith in the Almighty. Our school has stood still unscathed by the whips of circumstances. It has breathed in the continuous service of providing quality education and of eradicating illiteracy on the face of the Filipino citizenry.

            After almost 27 years of being a productive annex of Parañaque National High School-Main and bearing the name Parañaque National High School- La Huerta Annex, it was granted its sweet independence on May 3, 2016, by virtue of RA 10778.Through the hard work of Mrs. Santamaria who was newly promoted School Principal then and  through the intensive efforts of Congressman Eric L. Olivarez, with the support of Mayor Edwin L. Olivarez, our school now bears the name LA HUERTA NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL. 


previous arrow
next arrow